Launched in 2015 as a Washington State licensed Child Placing Agency (CPA) Foster Care Services is the arm of Morning Star that recruits, licenses, supports, and advocates for the compassionate individuals who are willing to make a difference in the lives of children by becoming licensed foster parents and families. MSFC is devoted to finding strong, committed, loving homes in our community – not just for boys who transition from our residential program, but for all children in our community ages 6-18+.
Why be licensed through MSFC?
Being a foster parent is tough – from emotional challenges, to extra expenses that often go beyond any sort of stipend received, to dealing with a difficult-to-navigate bureaucratic system on the foster child’s behalf. It is because of this that for almost every two foster homes licensed in Washington State, one closes their license.
Morning Star Foster Care Services actively seeks to break that trend by recruiting, licensing, and supporting our own homes as a Washington State-licensed CPA. Our hope is that by providing multiple layers of direct support we can advocate for both the families and the children placed in their homes. This is a proven way to ensure that foster parents have a lower experience of burnout, prevents a sense of isolation, and leads to better care for children placed in the home.
Frequently Asked Questions
– Must be at least 21 years old
– Can be single, married, or co-habitating
– Any sexual orientation or gender identity
– Must be able to complete a successful background clearance check
– Discipline children in a positive manner without the use of physical punishment
– Provide supervision appropriate to the age or specific behavior of the child
Any adult living in a potential foster home must:
– Complete a background clearance check
– Submit tuberculosis tests (dated within the last year)
– Youth ages 16-18 in the home must complete a Washington State Patrol check
Who can be a foster parent?
Is there a fee to apply through MSFC?
Can a single person be a foster parent?
How long does it take to get licensed?
Typically between 90 to 120 days
How long would a foster child stay in my home?
It depends on the foster child and the parents’ situation.If a child is not reunified with their family, they may be adopted by the foster family or be moved to a new adoptive family.
Can a foster child share a room with my child?
Most children may share a room. Foster children must have a separate bed and children of the opposite gender can only share a room if under six years old. Some children cannot share bedrooms because of behavior concerns.
Do I have a choice about the age and gender of the child?
Yes, your family will decide on what age and gender is most suitable for you with the help of MSFC’s foster home licensor.
Can I spank foster children?
No, foster parents are prohibited from using any form of physical punishment.
Can LGBTQ+ individuals be foster parents in Washington State?
Yes. Washington State is one of the 13 states that have non-discrimination laws in place to protect LGBTQ+ foster parents. There is a great need for homes that would be safe and supportive to LGBTQ+ foster children.